Snooker World Championship

The World Snooker Championship is a annual ranking snooker tournament founded in 1927 and since 1977 played at the Crucible Theatre in Sheffield England. The tournament is played over seventeen days in late April and early May and is chronologically the third of three Triple Crown events of the season since 1977/1978, when  the UK Championship was first held. The event was not held from 1941 to 1945 because of World War II or between 1958 and 1963 due to declining interest.

The most successful player at the world Snooker Championship was Joe Davis who won fifteen consecutive titles between 1927 and 1946. The record in the modern era usually dated from the reintroduction in 1969 of a knock-out tournament format. rather than a challenge format, is held by Stephen Hendry who won the tittle seven times between 1990 and 1999.

This entry was posted in Sport Facts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply